Govs Library: Junior History Paper Topics: Korean War

From Our Library: Books on Korean War

Below are just some examples of the library's materials on Korean War.

China Crosses the Yalu by Allen S. Whiting
Call Number: 951.9 WHI
ISBN: 0804706298
Publication Date: 1960-06-01
An analysis based on US documents and primarily Chinese news accounts available in 1960
Encyclopedia of the Korean War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); Jinwung Kim (Editor); Michael R. Nichols (Editor); Paul G. Pierpaoli (Editor); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor); Norman R. Zehr (Editor)
Call Number: REF 951.9 ENC Vols. 1-3
ISBN: 1576070298
Publication Date: 2000-06-28
Vol. 1: A-M -- Vol. 2: N-Z -- Vol. 3: Documents
Korean War by Sonia Benson; Gerda-Ann Raffaelle (Editor)
Call Number: REF 951.9 BEN
ISBN: 0787656917
Publication Date: 2001-10-22
Presents an overview of the Korean War, including its causes, its battles, and its peace process; provides twelve primary source documents on the conflict; and includes a time line, a glossary, a selected bibliography, and ninety maps and photos.
The Coldest Winter by David Halberstam
Call Number: 951.904 HAL
ISBN: 1401300529
Publication Date: 2007-09-25
A narrative of the political decisions and miscalculations on both sides, charting the path that led to the massive entry of Chinese forces near the Yalu and that caught Douglas MacArthur and his soldiers by surprise. He provides portraits of all the major figures--Eisenhower, Truman, Acheson, Kim, and Mao, and Generals MacArthur, Almond, and Ridgway-- and narrative journalism, chronicling the crucial battles. At the heart of the book are the stories of the soldiers on the front lines.
The Korean War by Donald Knox
Call Number: 951.9 KNO
ISBN: 0156027925
Publication Date: 2002-12-23
Drawing on his interviews with hundreds of veterans of Korea, Knox weaves personal stories with military records to create a vivid, day-by-day chronicle of the war’s first savage months of fighting. Index, photographs, and maps.

From Our Library: Articles on Korean War

Among the PeskyLibrary databases, the ones listed below are most likely to be useful. Do not forget to have a look at our list of available databases, however, especially if you are writing about a unique topic!

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, newspapers, newswires, TV and radio transcripts
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth explorations on issues, includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, images, historical texts, interviews, and more
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Publications and research materials for the study of world history; from ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance

Sources Elsewhere: Korean War

Korean War: Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Information, links, and further reading
Online Bookshelves - Books and Research Materials Korean War (U.S. Army Center of Military History)
Information, maps, posters, and archival material from the U.S. Army
Korean War (History.com)
Videos, speeches, and photos

Media: Korean War

Korean War Historical Images
Historical images from the Korean War. Public domain; not for commercial use. Please credit Department of Defense and photographer (see attached captions).
The Korean War: Rare Photos (Life magazine)
Copyrighted photographs

.gov Sites: Korean War

Korean War Records (U.S. National Archives)