Govs Library: Junior History Paper Topics: Great Depression

Sources Elsewhere: Great Depression

From Our Library: Books on the Great Depression

Below are just some examples of the library's materials on the Great Depression.

Great Depression and New Deal by Gale Research Staff
Call Number: REF 973.91 HAN
ISBN: 0787665355
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
Presents an overview of the Great Depression through the words and writings of the time: more than twenty-five excerpts from speeches, poems, fiction and non-fiction works.
Hard Times by Studs Terkel
Call Number: 309.173 TER
ISBN: 1565846567
Publication Date: 2005-07-07
A variety of people who lived through the Great Depression describe their memories of that time.
The Great Depression by Don Nardo
Call Number: 338.54 GRE
ISBN: 0737702311
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
A collection of essays on the Great Depression, focusing on the long-lasting effects on the American people and their views about economic issues.
The Great Depression by Janet Beyer (Editor); JoAnne B. Weisman (Editor); Kenneth M. Deitch
Call Number: REF 973.91 BEY
ISBN: 1878668463
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
The Great Depression brought devastation to America's economy and its people. Excerpts from interviews, magazine and news articles, letters, and historic photographs give a vivid picture of the suffering brought on by the economy's massive breakdown. Selections from Maya Angelou and John Steinbeck's works are also included.
The Great Depression and the New Deal by Robert F. Himmelberg
Call Number: 973.917 HIM
ISBN: 0313299072
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
Examines the Great Depression and the New Deal through narrative history and analysis, biographies, primary documents, and a photo essay; also includes a glossary, an annotated bibliography, and a time line.
Women of Valor by Bernard Sternsher (Editor); Judith Sealander (Editor); Jorge Colombo (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.917 WOM
ISBN: 0929587340
Publication Date: 1990-08-01
The struggle against the Great Depression as told in excerpts from the life stories of sixteen talented and influential women who confronted the problems that affected ordinary women.

From Our Library: Articles on the Great Depression

Among the PeskyLibrary databases, the ones listed below are most likely to be useful. Do not forget to have a look at our list of available databases, however, especially if you are writing about a unique topic!

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, newspapers, newswires, TV and radio transcripts
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth explorations on issues, includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, images, historical texts, interviews, and more
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present

Database Off-Site Access

Database Passwords for Off-Campus Access Use this link to access usernames and passwords if you are not on campus and cannot connect to a database directly. You must use your Govs Google account to access this document.

Media: Great Depression

America from the Great Depression to World War II (Farm Security Administration / Library of Congress)
Created by a group of U.S. government photographers, the images show Americans in every part of the nation. In the early years, the project emphasized rural life and the negative impact of the Great Depression, farm mechanization, and the Dust Bowl. In later years, the photographers turned their attention to the mobilization effort for World War II.
Photos of the Great Depression and and the New Deal (Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library)
Copyright-free photos of the Great Depression period
The Great Depression (History.com)
Videos, speeches, and photos