Govs Library: Junior History Paper Topics: Muslim American

From Our Library: Books on Muslim Americans

Below are just some examples of the library's materials on Muslim Americans and Islam in the U.S.

American Jihad by Steven Emerson
Call Number: 303.62 EME
ISBN: 0743234359
Publication Date: 2003-01-28
From the 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center, to foiled attacks on the New York City subway system, to a stunning range of murders across the country, there were numerous warning signs that the "American Jihad" had been gaining momentum.
Islam in America by Laura K. Egendorf
Call Number: 297.097 ISL
ISBN: 0737727284
Publication Date: 2005-09-02
At Issue Series: Religion
Islamic Beliefs, Practices, and Cultures by Marshall Cavendish Reference Staff
Call Number: 297.209 ISL
ISBN: 9780761479260
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Defining Islam and Muslims -- Life of Muhammad -- Brief history of Islam -- European colonies and decolonization in the Islamic world -- Beliefs -- People of the book -- Practices -- Defining jihad -- Scriptures and doctrine -- Translating the Koran -- Subdivisions of Islam -- Mystical Islam -- Muslim calendar, holy days and festivals -- Eid al fitr -- Holy places -- Jerusalem -- Visual arts -- Arts festivals -- Architecture -- Islam and architecture in the United States -- Literature -- Women writers -- Performing arts -- Comedy and Islam -- Media -- Al Jazeera -- Philosophy and science -- Contemporary trends in Islamic philosophy.
Servants of Allah by Sylviane A. Diouf
Call Number: 305.6 DIO
ISBN: 081471904X
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Introduction: an understudied presence and legacy -- African Muslims, Christian Europeans, and the Atlantic slave trade -- Upholding the Five Pillars of Islam in a hostile world -- The Muslim community -- Literacy: a distinction and a danger -- Resistance, revolts, and returns to Africa -- The Muslim legacy.
The Crescent Obscured by Robert J. Allison
Call Number: 956 ALL
ISBN: 0195086120
Publication Date: 1995-05-25
Allison traces the image of Islam in the American mind in the early years of the republic

From Our Library: Articles on Muslim Americans

Among the PeskyLibrary databases, the ones listed below are most likely to be useful. Do not forget to have a look at our list of available databases, however, especially if you are writing about a unique topic!

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, newspapers, newswires, TV and radio transcripts

Gale Religion and Philosophy Collection

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present

Database Off-Site Access

Database Passwords for Off-Campus Access Use this link to access usernames and passwords if you are not on campus and cannot connect to a database directly. You must use your Govs Google account to access this document.

Sources Elsewhere: Muslim American

Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR)
Promotes awareness and understanding of Islam in the United States, encourages dialogue, protects civil liberties, empowers American Muslims, and builds coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.
Islamic Society of North America (ISNA)
Variety of information, including recent full-text news items, press releases, conferences, and translations of the Qur'an
Muslim Public Affairs Council (MPAC)
Information offered includes full-text policy reports, programs and events, statements, and recommended reading
Anti-Terror Lessons of Muslim-Americans
Report identifying characteristics and practices of Muslim-American community that are preventing radicalization and violence
Arab American National Museum
The Arab American National Museum (AANM) is the first and only museum in the United States devoted to Arab American history and culture.

Muslim American: Media

The American Muslim (TAM)
Published as a quarterly print journal from 1989 to 1995, entirely by volunteer staff, and revived after the 9/11 attacks to provide a forum for and encourage intercommunity and interfaith dialogue
Islamic Horizons Magazine
Bimonthly publication of ISNA
The Muslim Observer (TMO)
Began as an alternative to the corporate media on issues pertaining to Islam and Muslims in 1999, with a focus on American Muslims, their issues, perspectives, and concerns
NPR.org
NPR programs and news on Muslim Americans
The New York Times
NY Times reporting on Muslim Americans

.gov Sites: Muslim American

U.S. Relations with the Muslim World (Military Education Research Library Network)
Resources on the U.S. policy towards the Muslim world since September 2001. It features statements from the Obama Administration, key statements from the Bush Administration, key Congressional hearings and major reports from the Government Accountability Office, Congressional Research Service, and the State Department, articles and reports from think tanks, non-governmental organizations, and academic centers that specialize in the analysis of America's engagement with the Muslim world.
Being Muslim in America (U.S. Dept. of State/Bureau of International Information Programs)
American Islam culture and life in photos, profiles, and statistics