Govs Library: Junior History Paper Topics: Cold War

Online Resources: Cold War

The Cold War from the Wilson Center
The Cold War from the JFK Museum
Cold War (BBC On This Day)
BBC news reports from the Cold War period
Cold War International History Project (Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars)
Digital archives contains many documents and transcripts on various Cold War issues
The Presidency and the Cold War (National Portrait Gallery)
This online exhibition explores how U.S. presidents shaped or reacted to the events of the Cold War, beginning at Yalta when Roosevelt met with Stalin and Churchill and ending with the collapse of the Berlin Wall. The Cold War consisted of an arms race, threats, and the formation of alliances and military bases around the world that, at times, brought the two superpowers -- U.S. and the Soviet Union -- perilously close to an all-out nuclear devastation. A selection of videos is available in the gallery.

From Our Library: Books on Cold War

Below are just some examples of the library's materials on the Cold War.

America, Russia and the Cold War, 1945-1996 by Walter Lafeber
Call Number: 973.919 LAF
ISBN: 0070360642
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Using extensive materials from both published and private sources, this text focuses on US/Soviet diplomacy to explain the causes and consequences of the Cold War. It identifies major policy-makers and explores major crises in the post-1945 period. The author also looks at how the Cold War was shaped by domestic events in both the USA and Soviet Union.
Cold War by Sharon M. Hanes; Richard Clay Hanes; Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: REF 973.918 HAN
ISBN: 0787676667
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
More than thirty of the most important documents, papers, speeches, and communications during the Cold War by the major figures of the era.
Cold War by Jeremy Isaacs; Taylor Downing
Call Number: 973.919 ISS
ISBN: 0316439533
Publication Date: 1998-09-06
This illustrated narrative history, spanning the rise of the Iron Curtain and the collapse of the Berlin Wall, is the companion the major 24-episode documentary airing on CNN, and around the world, beginning in the fall of 1998.
The Cold War by Earle Rice
Call Number: 973.927 RIC
ISBN: 1560066342
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Presents a history of the tense, often combative, relations between Soviet Russia and the United States from the end of World War II to the fall of communism in 1989.
The Cold War by Allan M. Winkler
Call Number: REF 973.918 WIN
ISBN: 0195123565
Publication Date: 2001-02-15
Uses contemporary documents to explore the development of the Cold War struggle, the consequences in the 1950s and 1960s, and the lasting effects on American social and cultural patterns.
The Cold War Period, 1945-1992 by Leora Maltz (Editor)
Call Number: 973.92 COL
ISBN: 0737711469
Publication Date: 2002-10-07
Presents nearly thirty essays and primary documents on thepolitical, cultural, and social struggles and changes that shaped America in the years of the Cold War, from 1945 to 1992; and includes a detailed chronology.
The Fifty-Year Wound by Derek Leebaert
Call Number: 973.92 LEE
ISBN: 0316518476
Publication Date: 2002-03-25
The Fifty-Year Wound is the first cohesively integrated history of the Cold War, one replete with important lessons for today. Drawing upon literature, strategy, biography, and economics Derek Leebaert explores what Americans sacrificed at the same time that they achieved the longest great-power peace since Rome fell.
We Know How by John L. Gaddis
Call Number: 973.918 GAD
ISBN: 0198780702
Publication Date: 1997-04-03
An international history of the first third of the Cold War, drawing from sources which have become available since 1992 to offer Soviet, East European and Chinese, as well as American and West European perspectives on events that occurred from the beginning of the conflict through the Cuban missile crisis.

From Our Library: Articles on Cold War

Among the PeskyLibrary databases, the ones listed below are most likely to be useful. Do not forget to have a look at our list of available databases, however, especially if you are writing about a unique topic!

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, newspapers, newswires, TV and radio transcripts
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth explorations on issues, includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, images, historical texts, interviews, and more
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Publications and research materials for the study of world history; from ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance

Database Off-Site Access

Database Passwords for Off-Campus Access Use this link to access usernames and passwords if you are not on campus and cannot connect to a database directly. You must use your Govs Google account to access this document.