Govs Library: Junior History Paper Topics: Prohibition

Prohibition Sources on the Web

The Dry Years (Library of Congress)
Selected images relating to prohibition from the collections of the Library of Congress
LOC Guide on the 18th Amendment
Prohibition (History.com)
Videos, speeches, and photos
PBS Prohibition Site

Primary Sources: Prohibition

Prohibition: A Case Study of Progressive Reform (Library of Congress)
Use the links on the right to access various documents from the Library of Congress collection.
The Dry Years (Library of Congress)
Selected images relating to prohibition from the collections of the Library of Congress

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present

Digital Public Library Prohibition Online Exhibit

.gov Sites: Prohibition

Did Prohibition Really Work? Alcohol Prohibition as a Public Health Innovation (Jack S. Blocker, Jr., PhD)
An article from American Journal of Public Health provided courtesy of American Public Health Association
Teaching With Documents: The Volstead Act and Related Prohibition Documents (U.S. National Archives)
Although meant for teachers, this resource links to the text of several primary sources and offers a short bibliography.

From Our Library: Articles on Prohibition

Among the PeskyLibrary databases, the ones listed below are most likely to be useful. Do not forget to have a look at our list of available databases, however, especially if you are writing about a unique topic!

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, newspapers, newswires, TV and radio transcripts
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth explorations on issues, includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, images, historical texts, interviews, and more
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present

Database Off-Site Access

Database Passwords for Off-Campus Access Use this link to access usernames and passwords if you are not on campus and cannot connect to a database directly. You must use your Govs Google account to access this document.

From Our Library: Books on Prohibition

Below are just some examples of the library's materials on the Prohibition.

Amendments XVIII and XXI by Sylvia Engdahl
Call Number: 344.73 AME
ISBN: 9780737743289
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Historical background on the Eighteenth and Twenty-first Amendments -- Impact of Amendment XVIII on constitutional law -- Impact of Amendment XXI on constitutional law -- Current relevance of Amendments XVIII and XXI.
Bootleg by Karen Blumenthal
Call Number: 363.41 BLU
ISBN: 9781596434493
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
The little shepard -- Hot and cold water -- Home destroyers and defenders -- A nation divides -- War! -- Dry! -- Milk and moonshine -- Snorky and Scarface -- Wet, again -- Epilogue: success or failure?
Decade That Roared by Linda Jacobs Altman
Call Number: 973.91 ALT
ISBN: 0805041338
Publication Date: 1997-12-09
Discusses the social conditions of the decade during which prohibition was in effect, the results of the legislation, and its failure to preserve traditional values.
Dry Manhattan by Michael A. Lerner
Call Number: 363.41 LER
ISBN: 067402432X
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
In 1919, the United States embarked on the country's boldest attempt at moral and social reform: Prohibition. The 18th Amendment to the Constitution prohibited the manufacture, transportation, and sale of alcohol around the country. This "noble experiment," as President Hoover called it, was intended to usher in a healthier, more moral, and more efficient society. Nowhere was such reform needed more, proponents argued, than in New York City--and nowhere did Prohibition fail more spectacularly.
Last Call by Daniel Okrent
Call Number: 363.41 OKR
ISBN: 9780743277020
Publication Date: 2010-05-11
A history of America’s most puzzling era, the years 1920 to 1933, when the U.S. Constitution was amended to restrict one of America’s favorite pastimes: drinking alcoholic beverages.
Prohibition by Dennis Nishi (Editor)
Call Number: 363.41 PRO
ISBN: 0737715782
Publication Date: 2005-05-06
Presents a collection of essays focusing on the history, causes, and consequences of prohibition in the United States during the 1920s.