It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Junior History Paper Topics
Resources on specific topics for the junior history papers. If you are looking for general research help, talk to your teacher, look at the Researching at the Library guide, the Junior Research Paper guide or speak with a librarian.
The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains over 3.2 million pages of scanned materials, including documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download.
Among the PeskyLibrary databases, the ones listed below are most likely to be useful. Do not forget to have a look at our list of available databases, however, especially if you are writing about a unique topic!
Reference guide defines the participants, battles, weapons, and issues of the Vietnam War, with lengthy interpretive essays about major topics related to the war such as the French colonial era, peacemaking efforts, and the role of the American media; and topical articles dealing with the people and events of the war and its surrounding history.
Contains both interpretive information and a wealth of facts in easy-to-find form. Part I: a narrative overview of contested issues and interpretations in Vietnam scholarship. Part II: a mini-encyclopedia with descriptions and analysis of individuals, events, groups, and military operations arranged alphabetically. Part III: a chronology of key events. Part IV: an annotated guide to resources, including films, documentaries, CD-ROMs, and reliable Web sites. Part V: excerpts from historical documents and statistical data.
Provides a social and political context for the Vietnam War, with little coverage of the actual fighting. Focuses on the official documents, speeches, quotes, media commentary, and memoirs that trace the history of French, and later, American involvements in Southeast Asia.
Provides an overview of the background to, conduct of, and the continuing legacy of the Vietnam War, arranged either chronologically or thematically. Biographies profiles 60 people from the era, including political and military leaders, journalists, authors, protestors, soldiers, and civilians. Primary Sources, the strongest title of the set, draws on letters, speeches, excerpts from memoirs, and reminiscences from a wide spectrum of participants and leaders.