Govs Library: Researching at the Library: Images & Media

Copyright-Free Images

Use these links to find copyright-free or limited copyright photos, maps, and more.

Keep in mind that some of the sites below collect both copyrighted and copyright-free images. You are responsible for determining the copyright status of each image you want to use.

Remember that even when an image is not covered by copyright, you still need to provide source information!

Creative Commons Search
Although not a search engine, the CC Search offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations.
Flickr Creative Commons Search
Search limited-copyright photos by Flickr users from all over the world.
Library of Congress on Flickr
Many of these digitized photos do not have known copyright restrictions

Images, Media & Citation

Please remember that because citing is a sign of respect towards other writers, researchers, and creators, all visuals need to include source information. Visuals include charts, maps, photos, and other images.

Another important reason to cite your sources is to enable others to find the same information.

Consequences to plagiarism in school and academic setting vary from failing the assignment or the whole class to being dismissed from the institution.

The following always need the source information listed:

quotations, opinions, and predictions (whether directly quoted or paraphrased)
statistics derived by the original author.
visuals (=charts, photos, other images)
another author’s theories
case studies
another author’s direct experimental methods or results
another author’s specialized research procedures or findings

Source: Style for Students Online by Joe Schall, Penn State University.

Note that any sounds you use in PowerPoint presentations must also be cited.

Read more at Style for Students Online by Joe Schall, Penn State University. The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) has excellent writing and citing resources.

Copyrighted Images

Louvre Museum
The database covers all the works exhibited in the museum - some 30,000 items. The usual explanatory texts that accompany museum exhibits, compiled by the museum curators, accompany each item. New images are constantly being added to the database.
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
Over 870,000 images, photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings from New York City Municipal Archives. Some restrictions on use.
Smithsonian Institution, Collections Search Center
Almost 8 million records with over 700,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals, and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries

Boston Public Library eCard

Massachusetts State residents can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard via the web! Just follow the prompts on the registration form and your eCard number will be emailed to you. (Use the school's address if you are an out-of-state or foreign boarder.)

BPL eCards are virtual library cards that allow users immediate entry to all of Boston Public Library's remotely-accessible electronic resources, including magazine databases, downloadable audio, video, eBooks, and music. eCard users who wish to check out library materials will be asked to upgrade to a standard BPL card.

You can find more information at the BPL website.

Boston Public Library eCards