NoodleTools is a citation management website subscribed to by Pescosolido Library. It will manage your sources, provide proper footnote format, export your Bibliography direct to Google Docs, and manage online notecards. Many databases including JSTOR and GALE export sources directly into NoodleTools.
Creating a NoodleTools account through the school will give you free access to the full version of NoodleTools with more options than the free version.
DIRECTIONS FOR CREATING A NEW ACCOUNT:
EasyBib, BibMe, and KnightCite offer a similar service as NoodleTools. If you need to cite just one source, these services are fast alternatives to NoodleTools.
KnightCite is a citation generator hosted by the Calvin College Hekman Library. There is no advertising on KnightCite, and it is free of charge. Creating MLA format citations with EasyBib is free; APA and Chicago/Turabian require a subscription.
The strength of NoodleTools is creating, saving, and editing a full bibliography (works cited list) over time, for example for a lengthy paper. Depending on your preferences, you also might want to choose NoodleTools of KnightCite for an ad-free experience.
To start a new list of resources for a paper or project, click on Create a New Project.
Fill in a name in the Description box (for example, JFK Paper). This name is just for your use; it will not appear anywhere on your final bibliography.
Select a citation style. Most history papers use Chicago style, science typically uses APA and English MLA--BUT CHECK YOUR ASSIGNMENT OR WITH YOUR TEACHER FOR THE CORRECT STYLE. Then you must choose a level; we recommend Advanced because it gives you the most options for types of sources.
To manually add sources into your works cited list, choose the SOURCES tab at the top of the page. Then Click on the NEW SOURCE button. Next, you must choose where you found the source: In a DATABASE (such as GALE, Ebsco, etc.), on the INTERNET, as a physical item in your hand (such as a book from the library), you heard a speech or interview LIVE, or other.
Next look through the list of source types that appear and choose the one that most resembles your source; common types include Journal Article, Magazine, Newspaper, Webpage, Book, and Podcast. Fill out the appropriate information for your source. (Placing your cursor into a blank section on Noodletools will bring up a help box that should give you information about that detail and whether or not it should be included.) Fill out all the necessary details. Remember to Save.
Websites found via Google (or another search engine) need to be added into your works cited list through NoodleTools, whereas citation information for articles found via databases can be copy&pasted or exported directly into Noodletools.
Using the blue OPTIONS dropdown to the right of every source on your Sources screen you can enter or edit an ANNOTATION or find the correct format for FOOTNOTES. The footnote format shown can be copied and pasted into Google docs.
NoodleTools bibliography will display all your sources in a list which you can export directly into Google Docs. Click Print/Export. Select Print/Export to Google Docs. As long as you have linked your Google account to Noodletools (in MY PROFILE in the drop-down from your account name in top right corner) the Bibliography will open in Google Docs.
Finally, proofread. Make sure that capitals and punctuation are there, everything is formatted in the same way, and everything looks neat.
SEE NOODLETOOLS QUICK GUIDE for step-by-step Help
If the Citation with NoodleTools guide does not answer your question, take a look at the links below.