Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources Elsewhere: Modern Europe
Council of Europe
The Council of Europe has 47 member countries and seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of individuals.
European Film Gateway
Free access to numerous European film archives. Includes rare feature and documentary films, newsreels, photos, posters, and various texts. Explore the German, French, and Spanish archives, for example; original language searching is enabled.
The official web site of the European Union.
Portal to digital resources of Europe's cultural collections: museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections; more than 15 million items are linked to
Eurostat (European Commission)
High quality statistics on Europe, including general and regional statistics, economy and finance, and population and social conditions.
The World Factbook (CIA)
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
From Our Library: Modern Europe
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on modern Europe.
A History of the World in the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: 909.82 GRE
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Social change and national rivalry in the West, 1900-1914 -- The response of China and Japan to western dominance -- The Great War, revolution and the search for stability -- The continuing world crisis, 1929-1939 -- The Second World War -- Post-war Europe, 1945-1947 -- The United States and the beginning of the Cold War, 1945-1948 -- The transformation of Asia, 1945-1955 -- The ending of European dominance in the Middle East, 1919-1980 -- The Cold War: Superpower confrontation, 1948-1964 -- The recovery of Western Europe in the 1950s and 1960s -- Who will liberate the Third World? 1954-1968 -- Two faces of Asia: After 1949 -- Latin America after 1945: Problems unresolved -- Africa after 1945: Conflict and the threat of famine -- The United States and the Soviet bloc after 1963: The great transformation -- Western Europe gathers strength: After 1968 -- The Cold War and after.
History of the Modern World by
Call Number: REF 940 HIS Vols. 1-10
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
v. 1. Origins of the modern world-- v. 2. Religion and change in Europe-- v. 3. Old and new worlds-- v. 4. The Age of the Enlightenment-- v. 5. Revolution and change-- v. 6. The changing balance of power-- v. 7. World War I and its consequences-- v. 8. World War II and the Cold War-- v. 9. The world today-- v. 10. Index.
The Cold War by
Call Number: REF 973.918 FRA vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
v. 1. Leaders and other important figures in the United States and Western Europe -- v. 2. Leaders and other important figures in the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, China, and the Third World -- v. 3. Resources: chronology, history, concepts, events, organizations, bibliography, archives.
From Our Library: DVDs on Modern Europe
Below are just some examples of the library's visual materials on modern Europe.
The Berlin Airlift
Call Number: DVD 973.918 BER
Publication Date: 2007
In 1948, the Soviet Union blocked access to West Berlin, starving the population and choking commerce. Allied forces refused to cede the city, and for nearly a year, supplied two million civilians and 20,000 allied solders entirely from the air. Through the personal stories of those who were there, this program provides a striking look at the first battle of the Cold War and the largest humanitarian campaign the world has ever seen.
From Our Library: Articles on World History Topics
The Home tab in the World History guide provides links to several library databases. They serve as good starting places for your research.
Remember that besides articles many databases also include photos and other illustrations, maps, charts, and primary sources!