Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From Our Library: Books on Modern Near East
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on modern Near East.
History of the Modern Middle East by
Call Number: 956 CLE
Publication Date: 1999-12-09
Analysis of modern Middle Eastern history, from the Ottoman and Egyptian reforms, through the challenge of Western imperialism, to the Iranian Revolution and the Gulf War.
From Our Library: DVDs on Modern Near East
Searching for peace in the Middle East by
Call Number: DVD 956 SEA
Publication Date: 2006
Explores the issues that divide the Israelis and Palestinians through interviews with Israelis and Palestinians of diverse backgrounds, describing a common yearning for peace and calling for new American diplomatic leadership in the peace process.
Below are just some examples of the library's visual materials on modern Near East.
From Our Library: Modern Africa & Near East
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on modern Africa & Near East.
Encyclopedia of African History by
Call Number: REF 960.03 ENC Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
Nearly 1,100 entries cover historical, political, cultural, economic, linguistic, and anthropological topics. Lengthy historiographical surveys, maps of each of the modern states as well as historically important regions (such as the Songhay Empire), and a substantial number of contributions from African scholars.
Milestone Documents in World History by
Call Number: REF 909 MIL Vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Extends the award-winning Milestone Documents series into world history, from ancient times to today. Key documents from all important world cultures are included, from the ancient Near East and ancient Egypt to the Greek and Roman Empires, medieval Islam, Renaissance Europe, and modern Africa and Asia. Constitutions, speeches, letters, acts, treaties, and legal cases are all covered.
Wonders of the African World by
Call Number: 960 GAT
Publication Date: 1999-10-05
A photographic exploration of the wonders of Africa, traveling by Land Cruiser, camel, dwhow, and on foot through twelve countries in an attempt to answer questions about what modern African-Americans have in common with their African ancestors, and to discover what Africans have contributed to civilization.
Sources Elsewhere: Modern Africa
Sources Elsewhere: Modern Near East
Brooklyn Museum Online Collections
Brooklyn Museum's digital gallery contains over 1,400 images on Art of the Islamic World.
Near Eastern Collection (Yale Uni. Library)
The site lists exhibitions, conferences, events, research guides, and collections and holdings, among other resources.
Saudi Aramco World Digital Archive
Contains more than 40,000 historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. Most of the images online are published and unpublished images from the bimonthly magazine Aramco World, from 1964 to 2000, and Saudi Aramco World, to current.
The Middle East in Early Prints & Photographs (NYPL Digital Gallery)
Several thousand images contained in works from the 17th to early 20th century.
From Our Library: Articles on World History Topics
The Home tab in the World History guide provides links to several library databases. They serve as good starting places for your research.
Remember that besides articles many databases also include photos and other illustrations, maps, charts, and primary sources!