Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources Elsewhere: Modern North America
The primary Internet portal for information on the Government of Canada, its programs, services, new initiatives and products, and for information about Canada.
Library & Archives Canada
Preserves and makes accessible the documentary heritage of Canada. It also serves as the continuing memory of the Government of Canada and its institutions. This heritage includes publications, archival records, sound and audio-visual materials, photographs, artworks, and electronic documents.
National Historic Sites of Canada
167 national historic sites (out of 950+ total) are administered by Parks Canada; this site provides information on them.
National Register of Historic Places (Nat'l Park Service)
The official list of the nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
U.S. government's official web portal.
From Our Library: Books on Modern Mesoamerica
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on modern Mesoamerica.
A Brief History of the Caribbean by
Call Number: 972.9 FIG
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Pre-Columbian inhabitants -- Two worlds in collision: The Spanish Conquest (1492-1552) -- European challenges to Spanish rule (1500-1850) -- Industry and slavery (1500-1850) -- Revolutions in America, France, and Haiti (ca. 1700-1850) -- Slave rebellion, anti-slavery movements and wars of independence (ca. 1700-1850) -- Puerto Rico, Cuba, and the Spanish-Cuban-American War (1850-1900) -- Cuba: dictatorship and revolution (1900-2000) -- Fragmentation and occupation: Haiti and the Dominican Republic (1900-2000) -- Commonwealth, federation, and autonomy: Puerto Rico, Martinique, Guadeloupe, and the Dutch Caribbean (1900-2000) -- Jamaica, Trinidad, and Grenada (1900-2000) -- The 21st century: immigration and uncertainties
Central America by
Call Number: 972.8 WOO
Publication Date: 1985-04-25
Explains the major political, social, and economic events of this region's history; covers Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama, from pre-Columbian times to the present.
Red Heat by
Call Number: 972.9 TUN
Publication Date: 2011-03-29
The Caribbean crises of the Cold War are presented in this story of clashing ideologies, the rise of the politics of fear, the machinations of superpowers, and the brazen daring of the mavericks who took them on. During the period of Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson, the United States and the Soviet Union acted out the world's tensions on three important island nations, Cuba, Haiti and the Dominican Republic.
From Our Library: DVDs on Modern South America
Black in Latin America by
Call Number: DVD 980 GAT
Publication Date: 2011
Henry Louis Gates Jr. travels to Haiti, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Brazil, Mexico and Peru to discover the African influence on Latin America. He examines the shared legacy of colonialism and slavery in a region that imported ten times as many slaves as the United States, and kept them in bondage far longer. Gates finds that the influence of people of African descent has had a massive influence on the history and culture of Latin America and the Caribbean, despite sometimes being forgotten or ignored.
Below are just some examples of the library's visual materials on modern South America.
From Our Library: Books on Modern North America
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on modern North America. The best places to look are upstairs in the 300s and downstairs in the 900s. And there are plenty more!
A Brief History of Canada by
Call Number: 971 RIE
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
History of Canada from its first sighting by the Norse to its full confederation in 1922 to today's social democracy.
A Larger Memory by
Call Number: 305.8 TAK
Publication Date: 1998-09-23
Traces the diverse history of the United States through the voices of its multicultural men and women, and examines the centuries-long debate over who is an American and what the country stands for.
Call Number: 385.09 WHI
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Introduction -- Genesis -- Annus horribilis : 1873 -- Friends -- Spatial politics -- Kilkenny cats -- Men in octopus suits -- Working men -- Looking backward -- Collapse -- Strike -- Creative destruction -- Epilogue -- Conclusion.
The Oxford Companion to United States History by
Call Number: REF 973.03 OXF
Publication Date: 2001-07-04
With over 1,400 entries, the book illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
Women's America by
Call Number: 301.41 KER
Publication Date: 1982-03-01
A comprehensive sampling of the best and most readable essays by renowned scholars of American women's history. Original historical documents with articles by contemporary scholars on a wide range of topics. Essential documents which relate past legal decisions to contemporary issues such as the Equal Rights Amendment, abortion, military draft for women, and economic equity and comparable worth.
From Our Library: Books on Modern South America
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on modern South America.
Che Guevara by
Call Number: 921 GUE
Publication Date: 1997-03-12
Making use of unprecedented access to Che's personal archives, his guerrilla cohorts, and Cuban government archives, this exhaustive biography traces the life of the Latin American communist revolutionary.
Latin American Heroes by
Call Number: 980 ADA
Publication Date: 1993-04-13
Profiles twenty-three leaders and heroes from the 1500s to the 1980s.
Notable Latin American Women by
Call Number: 980 ADA
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
Looks at the lives of twenty-nine notable Latin American women including Bartira of Brazil, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz of Mexico, and Manuela de Rosas of Argentina.
Simon Bolivar by
Call Number: 980.02 GOO
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
A biography of the South American general and revolutionary who helped liberate Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, and Venezuela from the domination of Spain in the early nineteenth century.
From Our Library: DVDs on Modern Americas
Below are just some examples of the library's visual materials on the modern Americas.
Call Number: DVD 921 CAS
Publication Date: 2005
Through interviews with relatives, loyalists, and enemies in Cuba and abroad, American Experience constructs an intimate and revealing portrait of the most resilient of leaders.
The Trail of Tears: Cherokee Legacy
Call Number: DVD 975.004 TRA
Publication Date: 2006
A look at the forced relocation of Cherokee tribes by the United States government from their ancestral homelands (throughout the South) to Indian Territory (in present-day Oklahoma) from 1838-1839.
Sources Elsewhere: Modern Native Americans
From Our Library: Articles on World History Topics
The Home tab in the World History guide provides links to several library databases. They serve as good starting places for your research.
Remember that besides articles many databases also include photos and other illustrations, maps, charts, and primary sources!