Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources Elsewhere: Early Near East
Ancient Near East Photographs (Uni. of WA Libraries)
Images of artifacts and archaeological sites of the ancient Near East dating from 3000 BCE to 200 CE by University of Washington scholars.
Arts of the Islamic World (Smithsonian Museum)
The works on view in this online exhibition represent the three principal media for artistic expression in the Islamic world: architecture (both religious and secular), the arts of the book (calligraphy, illustration, illumination, and bookbinding), and the arts of the object (ceramics, metalwork, glass, woodwork, textiles, and ivory).
Caravan Kingdoms: Yemen and the Ancient Incense Trade (Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Museum)
Yemen's artistic heritage is examined in this online exhibition of approximately 129 objects excavated from the ancient kingdoms around 800 B.C.E. to C.E. 600) of Qataban, Saba (biblical Sheba), and Himyar. Special emphasis is given to the rich artistic interaction that resulted from overland and maritime contacts linking the southern Arabian peninsula with eastern Mediterranean, northeastern Africa, and south and southwest Asia.
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives (ETANA)
ETANA continues to digitize texts selected as valuable for teaching and research relating to ancient Near Eastern studies. Freely available for noncommercial teaching and research purposes.
Freer Sackler Online Gallery: Ancient Near Eastern Art (Smithsonian Institution)
Few museums of Asian art boast a collection of Near Eastern Art as rich as that of the Freer and Sackler galleries. The 1,100+ objects in this collection span several thousand years, from 5,000 B.C.E. to the advent of Islam in 651.
Sources Elsewhere: Early Africa
From Our Library: Books on Early Near East
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on early Near Eastern history.
Call Number: 939 ANA
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Looks at the kingdoms of ancient Turkey, using archeological sites, artifacts, photographs, and drawings to illustrate the lost civilizations.
Call Number: 935 KRI
Publication Date: 2012-03-27
Kriwaczek brings to life the world of ancient Mesopotamia and the city of Babylon, tracing their rise from a loose federation to a monarchy to the rise of ancient Sumerian civilization, with its tales of the Great Flood and the epics of semidivine heroes such as Gilgamesh.
The Conquests of Alexander the Great by
Call Number: 938.07 BEH
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Greek life in the age of Alexander -- Lofty ambitions -- To battle -- This country Persia -- Into the heart of Persia -- To the ends of the earth -- Legacy.
From Our Library: DVDs on Early Africa
From Our Library: Books on Early Egypt
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on ancient Egypt.
The Egyptian Pyramids by
Call Number: REF 932 LEP
Publication Date: 1990-11-01
Study of the early pyramid pharaohs and their monuments. Includes a chronological list of 42 pyramid pharaohs.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by
Call Number: REF 932 BUN
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
Over 1,500 entries cover all aspects of ancient Egypt, from the Predynastic period around 3200 B.C. to the fall of the New Kingdom in 1070 B.C.
From Our Library: Books on Early Africa
Africans and Their History by
Call Number: 960 HAR
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
A tradition of myths and stereotypes -- The evolution of early African societies -- Early kingdoms and city-states -- Africa and the world, 1400-1850 -- The expansion of Africa -- Repatriation and the development of a pan-Africanist tradition -- Politics and state-building I: the Guinea coast and forest regions -- Politics and state-building II: the Sudan -- Politics and state-building III: central and southern Africa -- Politics and trade in East Africa -- The scramble and partition -- African diplomacy, resistance, and rebellion -- The European colonizers: policies and practices -- The struggle for independence -- The transformation in southern Africa: South Africa and Namibia -- The quest for unity -- Africa and contemporary issues.
From Our Library: Articles on World History Topics
The Home tab in the World History guide provides links to several library databases. They serve as good starting places for your research.
Remember that besides articles many databases also include photos and other illustrations, maps, charts, and primary sources!