Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources Elsewhere: Early Mediterranean
Ancient Greece (The British Museum)
An interactive site predominantly aimed at schoolchildren aged 9 - 11 and their teachers.
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Peer-reviewed non-profit community website that uses definitions, timelines, maps, illustrations, and articles to present ancient history
Cyprus: Crossroads of Civilization (National Museum of Natural History)
This online exhibition presents the history of Cyprus, its struggles, and achievements -- through a rich collection of more than 200 artifacts and antiquities, many of which are on view for the first time outside the country, and through
a range of objects dating from the earliest villages to masterpieces of medieval religious art.
Graffiti from Pompeii (Pompeiana.org)
English translations of graffiti found at Pompeii, plus references to the published Latin text of the graffiti
Greece: Secrets of the Past (Canadian Museum of Civilization)
Information on the various periods of ancient Greece. Aspects of daily life, religion, geography, and other topics. Includes a timeline.
National Archaeological Museum of Athens, Greece
The National Archaeological Museum of Athens is the largest archaeological museum in Greece and one of the most important museums in the world devoted to ancient Greek art.
The Ancient Theatre Archive (Thomas G. Hines / Whitman College)
A virtual reality tour of Greek and Roman theater architecture. Includes glossary, map, numerical specifications of the theaters, and an extensive bibliography.
From Our Library: Books on Early Greece & Rome
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on ancient Greece and Rome.
Call Number: 938 GRE
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Explores the ancient Greek world by examining the treasures, temples and tombs through archeological excavations and restorations.
Rome and the Barbarians by
Call Number: 913.37 CUN
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Describes what the work of archaeologists has revealed about the Roman armies and the "barbarians" from Northern Europe whom they fought in the period of approximately 150 B.C. to 150 A.D.
The Archaeology of the Olympics by
Call Number: 796 ARC
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Presents a re-evaluation of the Olympic Games (and related festivals) as they actually were. Historians, archaeologists, and classicists examine the evidence to ask such questions as: How did the athletes train? What did they eat? Can we trace the roots of the games as far back as the Bronze Age of Crete and Mycenae? Or even to Anatolia, where similar athletic activities occurred? Were the ancient games really so free of political overtones as modern Olympic rhetoric urges us to believe?
The Decline and Fall of Ancient Greece by
Call Number: 938 DEC
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Covers the struggle of ancient Greece in its attempt to become a unified empire, its contributions to the ancient world, and its ultimate demise. Entries address such topics as politics, military, social, and cultural conditions. Additionally, this book also provides a chronology, excerpts from primary documents, an extensive list of ancient and modern sources for further reading, and a thorough index.
The Ruins and Excavations of Ancient Rome by
Call Number: 937 LAN
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Lancani discusses the many styles of bricks and how they are laid, the design of the aqueduct systems, the excavation of Nero's golden house and palaces of other Emperors, ordinary houses, places of worship, the discovery of the remains of Raphael in the Pantheon, and interesting historical anecdotes. There are over 200 illustrations, maps and plans.
From Our Library: Books on Early Mediterranean
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on the ancient Mediterranean as a whole.
You can also search our catalog for the LOEB Classical Library editions of famous texts of the antiquity.
A Guide to the Ancient World by
Call Number: REF 930.2 GRA
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
From Abdera to Zeugma, each with a concise history describing its significance, along with several pages of maps and cross-indexed names
Carthage Must Be Destroyed by
Call Number: 939.73 MIL
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
A history of the city whose defeat was one of the ancient world's defining moments draws on new archaeological research to trace its rise to become the Mediterranean's greatest sea power and discuss the contributions of military leader Hannibal.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by
Call Number: REF 938 CIV Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A collection of ninety-seven essays that provide information about the ancient Mediterranean civilizations of Greece and Rome.
The Ancient Mediterranean by
Call Number: 930 GRA
Publication Date: 1988-09-01
History of all the peoples who lived around the Mediterranean from about 15,000 B.C. to the time of Constantine (306-337 A.D.)
From Our Library: Early Europe
Below are just some examples of the library's materials on early European history.
African Presence in Early Europe by
Call Number: 940 AFR
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Places into perspective the role of African in world civilization, in particular their little known contributions to the advancement of Europe. The book is divided into six parts: The First Europeans: African Presence in the Ancient Mediterranean Isles and Mainland Greece; Africans in the European Religious Hierarchy (madonnas, saints and popes); African Presence in Western Europe; African Presence in Northern Europe; African Presence in Eastern Europe.
The Great Explorers: The European Discovery of America by
Call Number: 970.01 MOR
Publication Date: 1978-03-09
Presents the voyages of the Cabots, Gilbert, Frobisher, Columbus, Magellan, Drake, and others. The book is chock full of maps, seafaring techniques, and all the excitement of a good adventure yarn.
From Our Library: DVDs on Early Europe
Below are just some examples of the library's visual materials on early Europe.
In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great
Call Number: DVD 930 INT
Publication Date: 2010
Combining popular history with adventure and travel, historian Michael Wood embarks on an odyssey of discovery, following the ancient triumphal march of Alexander of Macedonia from Greece to India, to bring us the truth behind one of history's most famous and enigmatic heroes.
Rome: Engineering an Empire
Call Number: DVD 937 ROM
Publication Date: 2005
Using extensive state-of-the-art CGI animation this documentary chronicles the spectacular as well as sordid history of the Roman Empire from the rise of Julius Caesar in 55 BC to its fall around 537 AD. The CGI animation gives the viewers an opportunity to see Rome's greatest structures the way the ancient Romans saw them. The insights of engineers, archaeologists and historians add depth to segments on Hadrian's Wall, Caesar's Bridge, the aqueducts, the Colosseum, the Pantheon, the Baths of Caracalla, and the remains of Emperor Nero's lavish Golden Palace for a rare look at how one of Rome's most notorious megalomaniacs lived. Also never-before-seen footage shot on a diving expedition in the water channels underneath the Colosseum, channels once used to flood the arena for mock naval battles.
The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization
Call Number: DVD 938 GRE
Publication Date: 1999
Views rise and fall of ancient Greece through the eyes of prominent figures of the times, including Cleisthenes, Themistocles, Pericles, and Socrates.
Sources Elsewhere: Early Europe
From Our Library: Articles on World History Topics
The Home tab in the World History guide provides links to several library databases. They serve as good starting places for your research.
Remember that besides articles many databases also include photos and other illustrations, maps, charts, and primary sources!