full-text journal and reference articles covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present
Study significant periods in American history through a timeline-based interface. Complete editions from hundreds of U.S. newspapers provide primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.
In-depth explorations on issues, includes primary source documents, timelines, biographies, images, historical texts, interviews, and more
More than 5000 nonfiction books on a wide variety of subjects including history, science, and biographies.
See Database Off-Site Access for usernames and passwords if you are not on campus and cannot connect to a database directly.
Here are some US History websites full of primary sources to help with your research:
The Boston Public Library gives you access to numerous databases including JSTOR. Sign up for an eCard for full access to JSTOR.
Find the databases here. Use your BPL card number and PIN.
NoodleTools is a citation management website subscribed to by Pescosolido Library. It will manage your sources, provide proper footnote format, export your Bibliography direct to Google Docs, and manage online notecards. Many databases including JSTOR and GALE export sources directly into NoodleTools.
Creating a NoodleTools account through the school will give you free access to the full version of NoodleTools with more options than the free version.
DIRECTIONS FOR CREATING A NEW ACCOUNT: